New Jersey Stage

Friday, December 13, 2013


(ASBURY PARK, NJ -- DECEMBER 12, 2013) -- Hundreds of musicians, music fans, and industry professionals packed the Stone Pony on a cold winter's night to celebrate the local music scene with the annual Asbury Music Awards. Over 35 different awards were presented along with live performances from some of the hottest acts in the scene throughout the evening.

Performers included Lemon Juice, Empire Escorts, Wreaths, The Black Jesuses, The Battery Electric, Amy Malkoff & the Moonshines, Lower The Veil, Harper's Fellow (featuring Joe Michelini of River City Extension), The Sunday Blues, Emily Grove Band, Cranston Dean, Ardvark Smile, and Alex English. 

The two special lifetime awards were presented to Tony "Bocci" Amato (2013 Living Legend) and John DiCapua (James M. MacDonald Behind the Scenes Lifetime Achievement Award).

More than anything, the annual event is a great night of networking, seeing old friends, and sometimes even a way to find bandmates for new projects. This was the 21st annual Asbury Music Awards show, an event that was originally called "The Gold T-Birds Awards" and presented at the old T-Birds Cafe. The idea for the awards came from Scott Stamper (owner of The Saint in Asbury Park) as a way to give something back to the performers and fans who make up the Jersey Shore music scene.

Here are the 2013 Asbury Music Award winners:


Top Americana: Thomas Wesley Stern
Top Avant-Garde Act: Wreaths
Top Blues/Soul Band: Sandy Mack Band
Top "Classic" Asbury Artist: Stringbean & the Stalkers
Top Heavy Rock Act: Toothgrinder
Top Indie Rock Band: Brick+Mortar
Top Jam/Groove Band: Lemon Juice
Top Pop Rock Band: Quincy Mumford & the Reason Why
Top Live Performance: The Battery Electric
Top Punk Band: Lost In Society
Top Rock Band: The Battery Electric
Top Young band (Under 21): The Glycerine Queens

Solo Artists

Poet Laureate: Joshua J. Ballard
Top Female/Band Acoustic Act: Emily Grove
Top Female Vocalist: Amy Malkoff (Amy Malkoff & the Moonshines)
Top Male/Band Acoustic Act: Thomas Wesley Stern
Top Male Vocalist: Ron Santee (The Battery Electric)

Songs & Videos

Beyond Asbury Top Record/Single/Digital Release: Nicole Atkins ("Neptune City" to benefit Sandy Relief)
Top Local Release: "Thanks For Tonight" by Harper's Fellow
Top Music Video: "Bangs" by Brick+Mortar
Song Of The Year: "Shock Hazard" by The Battery Electric

Individual Awards

Top Bassist: Alex Rosen (The Battery Electric)
Top Drummer: Wills Weller (Toothgrinder)
Top Guitarist: James McCaffrey (Karmic Juggernaut)
Top Keyboard Player: Matt Wade (Matt Wade Band)
Top Multi-Instrumentalist: Keith McCarthy (The Sunday Blues)

Music Industry Awards

Top Live Sound Engineer: Jack "Hinge" Pitzer (The Saint)
Top Local Club DJ: DJ Jack The Ripper
Top Journalist In Support Of Live Music: Chris Rotolo (Speak Into My Good Eye)
Top Music Photographer: Jeff Crespi (freelance)
Top Music Website/Facebook In Support Of Live Original Music: Speak Into My Good Eye
Top News Publication In Support Of Live Music: The Aquarian Weekly
Top Radio/Internet Station To Support Live Music: 90.5 The Night WBJB-FM Brookdale Public Radio
Top Radio Personality In Support Of Live Music: Stu Coogan (WBJB-FM 90.5 The Night)

Venue Awards

Best Thing to Happen In 2012/2013: Happy Monday's (Wonder Bar, Asbury Park)
Top Hang-Out Bar: Bond Street Bar (Asbury Park)
Top Live Original Music Venue: The Saint (Asbury Park)

The Big Ones

2013 Living Legend: Tony "Bocci" Amato (Boccigalupe & the Badboys)
James M. MacDonald Behind the Scenes Lifetime Achievement: John DiCapua
Congratulations to all of the winners!

Photo of The Sunday Blues performing live at the Asbury Music Awards. Photo credit: Gary Wien